NYC on a budget

NEW YORK CITY ain’t cheap, but you can find ways to make the most out of your trip without really spending much. So, here are some NYC “Tipid Tips.

Chillax in CENTRAL PARK

JK NYC44

JK NYC50

JK NYC73

Find a bench or sprawl on the grass – have a picnic, read, draw, write, or in my case, watch the world go by.

METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART

A friend gave me this tip – you can see all the masterpiece here for only a dollar! So, instead of buying an entrance ticket which costs around $25, tell them you are going to give a donation instead. I was a travelling artist and out of work, so a dollar will do 😉

JK big apple 10

JK big apple 9

JK big apple 11

JK NYC59

Check out some Art in CHELSEA

It’s a wonderful neighborhood full of galleries. So if you love modern and contemporary art, this is the place to be, and you get to see it all for free.

JK NYC19

* I will make another blog entry on the different exhibitions I saw on Chelsea 🙂

JK NYC18

In the same area,  you can find interesting shops and go window shopping. I particularly liked “ANTHROPOLOGIE”where I swooned over stuff I cannot buy, so “picture-picture” na laang.

JK NYC8

JK NYC14

JK NYC11
I want you! I want you soooo bad!
JK NYC9
Ain’t these adorable?
JK NYC12
Halukatdat chair art!
JK NYC13
These could be a wonderful part of my plato-platohan collection
JK NYC10
Yeah baby yeah!

Hang Out in the HIGHLINE

A nice stroll on an elevated park on a disused railroad, how cool is that?! A bit of an oasis in the concrete jungle that is New York.

JK NYC30

JK NYC29

JK big apple 3
railroad track

JK NYC39

JK NYC43

Watch a play in BROADWAY

I wasn’t able to go to TKTS but went straight to the ticket booth of the plays I wanted to see. All I did was ask for the cheapest ticket. It saved me some time and I didn’t have to fall in line.

JK my ny 32

JK my ny 33

JK big apple 8

ONE DOLLAR PIZZA, oh yeah !!!

JK NYC20
Got one just right outside the hostel
JK NYC22
one dollar pizza with the Brazilian roomies
JK NYC21
freshly co

Ride the ferry to see the STATUE OF LIBERTY

I don’t really have the need to go check out all the famous landmarks. So for me, it’s ok not to go up the Statue of Liberty. My friends suggested to take the free ferry ride from Stanton place and see skyscrapers on one side and Lady Liberty on the other.

*TIP – it’s not a long ferry ride so better not sit down anymore and just stand next to the railings to get a better view.

JK NYC54

JK NYC55

JK NYC58

JK NYC56

JK NYC57

Cheap chow in CHINATOWN

If you are starving and you want cheap and satisfying meal, head to Chinatown! I was walking and walking and walking when I found meself in this part of the ‘hood.

JK NYC27

JK NYC28

JK NYC34

JK NYC35

JK NYC24

I was tired and hungry and stumbled upon a market cum food court. I ordered some rice and shrimps. Oooh rice, I miss 😉 Had to eat while standing up, but who cares, I was famished!

JK NYC40

JK NYC42

JK NYC41

JK NYC32

JK NYC33

When in LITTLE ITALY, have some Chocolate Dipped Cannoli.

JK NYC25

JK NYC23

JK NYC26

Leave a Reply

