HEY MoMA: MOment with the MAsters

On this journey of following my art in New York, I know it is but appropriate to pay my respects to the masters who’s been teaching me how to “playnt.” It was June last year when I became a full time artist and felt the need to take my art into a new direction.  I usually work with photographs or videos, then I thought of dabbling into painting. I found “the Art Book” (or shall I say it found me, hehe) and decoded its layers, I felt I was being taught by the masters. And since I’m not really a painter, I call what I do “playntings,” or playing and painting.

JK moma 2

JK moma 4

JK moma 23

JK moma 13
Christina’s World by Andrew Wyeth
JK moma 24
The Park by Gustav Klimt
JK moma 73
Flower Festival: Feast of Santa Anita by Diego Rivera

As expected, there was a long queue winding outside the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA). After forever I was finally able to get in, and boy the museum was packed! Good to know there are a lot of people who wants to see works of art, but bad for me because there’s not much time left to see everything. To be able to make use of my time wisely, I went right to the top floor and worked my way down.

JK moma 36

JK moma 38
Night Fishing at Antibes by Pablo Picasso
JK moma 54
Evening, Honfleur
JK moma 55
by Georges-Pierre Seurat
JK moma 26
Gustav Klimt
JK moma 32
Water Lilies by Claude Monet
JK moma 53
Portrait of the Postman Joseph Roulin by Vincent Van Gogh
JK moma 51
The Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh

JK moma 50

JK moma 80
Girl with a Ball by Roy Lichtenstein

Hi Messieurs Klimt, Van Gogh, Diego Rivera, Monet and Picasso. It is wonderful to see your brush strokes and study the layers up close. Finally we meet again. I have seen some of your works before but I understand them more now.

JK my ny 24

JK moma 30
Dance by Henri Matisse

JK moma 31

On view was Henri Matisse’ Cut-Outs… There was another queue to get in and we were told not to take photos of the temporary exhibition. Good, so I can be able to just focus on the artworks.

two dancers
TWO DANCERS image from http://observer.com/2014/10/the-magician-of-color-on-the-vibrant-shocking-life-affirming-matisse-show-at-moma/
matisse oceania
THE PARAKEET AND THE MERMAID  image from http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2014/oct/09/-sp-matisse-cut-outs-moma-review

I’m not exactly a fan of Matisse but his cut-outs were a revelation. Seeing it made me miss using scissors again. I started out my life as an artist by accident. I had trouble sleeping one night, I found my old travel photographs and started cutting it… Creating collages is still my first love, while these cut-outs (particularly “the swimming pool”) was Matisse’ last oeuvre.

blue nude
BLUE NUDE image from http://www.henri-matisse.net/cutouts/n.html

Aruruteynkyu to my audio guide, I discovered that some of the cut paper were pinned to Matisse’ wall to cover a stain. He used his walls as canvas and scissors as his paintbrush. Seeing the thumb tack holes on the paper, made it more playful and joyful to look at. I imagine him in his studio, experimenting on the composition and the layout.

cut-outs-and-make-outs-at-momas-matisse-marathon-exhibit-789-1423515246-crop_lede
SWIMMING POOL image from http://www.vice.com/read/cut-outs-and-make-outs-at-momas-matisse-marathon-exhibit-789

Going from room to room and discovering this world of paper cut-outs made me soooo happy, I teared up! Floating colored papers filled up the room. There was a garden, a circus and then a swimming pool – I believed it. I experienced it.

Matisse wanted to swim, but at his age of 82 and ill-health, he wasn’t able to do so. He then decided to create his own, a pool of aquamarine blue cut paper inside his studio. I too swam in my tears when i dove right into his swimming pool.

Monsieur Matisse, it’s an honour to meet you.

JK moma 10

JK moma 12

JK moma 11

I wish to sit in a corner and just cry, but there were too many people. No moment or space to just take it all in. So I decided to take a break and gather my thoughts at the museum’s cafe.

JK moma 27
Hope, II
JK moma 28
Gustav Klimt

JK moma 66

JK moma 65
Flag by Jasper Johns
JK moma 20
Boy Leading a Horse by Pablo Picasso
JK moma 59
Fulang-Chang and I by Frida Kahlo

JK moma 61

JK moma 18

JK moma 19
Les Demoiselles d’Avignon by Pablo Picasso
JK moma 15
I and the Village by Marc Chagall
JK moma 45
Masks Confronting Death by James Ensor
JK moma 37
Girl before a Mirror by Pablo Picasso
JK moma 58
Hirondelle Amour by Joan Miro
JK moma 87
Drowning Girl by Roy Lichtenstein
JK moma 40
by Vasily Kandinsky
JK moma 41
Panel for Edwin Campbell, no. 1
JK moma 17
Nude with Joined Hands by Pablo Picasso
JK moma 16
Simultaneous Contrasts: Sun & Moon by Robert Delaunay

Paintings were not really my priority when I go to museums or galleries. I prefer something more contemporary or conceptual, but my “playnting” sessions taught me to return to the basics. It taught me to view things differently, with new eyes. Now, I look at something and I try to figure out what colors were used to create that.

JK moma 70

JK moma 72

JK moma 71

JK moma 79

JK moma 75
Cy Twombly
JK moma 64
Number 1a by Jackson Pollock
JK moma 29
To be looked at (from the other side of the glass) by Marcel Duchamp
JK moma 39
The Persistence of Memory by Salvador Dali
JK moma 60
Self Portrait with Cropped Hair by Frida Kahlo
JK moma 88
Portrait of Sidney Janis by Marisol Escobar

Frida, I am looking forward to getting to know you more. Kandinsky and Delaunay, I now recognize your works even from afar. Miro, Chagall and Gaugin – I appreciate you more now.

JK moma 14
Mme Kupka among Verticals by Frantisek Kupka
JK moma 85
Al Loving
JK moma 69
Two Sisters by John Graham
JK moma 76
Blatt (on the floor) by Lynda Benglis

“Kindly return your audio guides on the first level. The museum will be closing in a few minutes.” Huwaaaat?!? But I still haven’t seen the exhibition on the second floor! Well, as if naman aantayin talaga nila ako matapos maglibot diba. I took so long staring and admiring the works of the masters that I lost track of time.

JK moma 67
The Seed of Areoi by Paul Gaugin
JK moma 34
Water Lilies by Claude Monet
JK moma 35
I saw this guy (in the foreground) smiling and crying while looking at the water lillies by Monet.

It felt good to see other people being moved by the artworks as well. It just goes to show how powerful art can be. How an artwork even from long ago is still relevant until now. How art can transcend both time and space.

JK moma 83

JK moma 82

This trip just validates all the more my decision to fully focus on my Art. I know I still have a looooong way to go, but I feel coming to New York (not to mention spending my savings) gives me the reason to believe that I am on the right path.

***

All photographs were taken by Jazel Kristin unless stated otherwise

2 thoughts on “HEY MoMA: MOment with the MAsters

  1. Hi! I’m so happy that you got to experience all these things! Someday I wish I could be as brave as you. 🙂 I can relate to tearing up when you see art you love in the flesh, I teared up several times in LACMA and the Getty Museum too. Hehe.

    1. HI drea! I feel that you are a brave soul as well, a kindred spirit 🙂 Travelling does that to us.

Leave a Reply

