AKIHABARA with Kanna (Tokyo, Japan)

Yihaaaa, I get to hang out again with my japanese painter friend, Kanna 😀

This time she took me to Akihabara.

JK akihabara 5

JK akihabara 25

JK akihabara 23

JK akihabara 22

I’m no anime/manga geek or gadget fanatic, but since I’m here, why not look for stuff connected to “Death Note.” It’s an anime series that i got totally hooked on when I was living in Paris. It was A who introduced it to me, he even gifted me a young “L” seated on a chair and a miniature “Near” 🙂

JK akihabara 20

JK akihabara 21

JK akihabara 24

JK akihabara 26

Kanna and i went around different establishments, up and down different floors, filled with so much toys and collectibles. Alas, there were not really many “death note” toys to choose from. We were told that it was too old, haha, so we got out of the building empty handed.

JK akihabara 27
Inside the lift to anime land

JK akihabara 13

JK akihabara 11

JK akihabara 9

JK akihabara 12

JK akihabara 8

JK akihabara 10

JK akihabara 15
Super Mario

JK akihabara 16

JK akihabara 6
Shinigamis (Death Note), but we have this also in manila
JK akihabara 7
“L” of Death Note in his famous thinking pose. We can also find this toy in Manila.

But, the universe has its way of not letting that happen 😀 Saw a street market outside and discovered these handmade miniature leather boots!

JK akihabara 2

JK akihabara 1

 Huwow halukatdat :D

How can I resist such cuteness?!

JK akihabara 3
Can you guess which one i chose?
JK akihabara 4
handmade leather booties

Kanna asked me if i wanted to have lunch at a maid cafe since there are a lot of those here in Akihabara. Well, I’m actually okay not to experience it. Then, we saw this small nondescript resto run by 3 old ladies. It looks cozy inside and the people seems to be enjoying their meals.

JK akihabara 30

JK akihabara 29

Ok, so dizizit! I ordered a seafood katsu while kanna had some pork or chicken katsu, i think. It’s interesting that it was served with rice and spaghetti, how filipino! haha 😀 I asked kanna if that was traditional, she said not really.

JK akihabara 31

JK akihabara 28

JK akihabara lunch w kanna
Kanna and I are happy with our meal

The food was good and before we left, I stood by the doorway and announced to the ladies – THE FOOD WAS OISHI! They all giggled and thanked me 😉 Ahhh,  I really love discovering restaurants like this. With these lovely ladies serving us, it felt like we were in a family home.

JK akihabara 17

JK akihabara 14

What I love about Tokyo is that each district has its own character. You can find a place and claim it your own. My favorite so far is the back streets of Harajuku, though Akihabara is not really the place for me, I still did find some things that caught my fancy.

Up Next: G I N Z A

3 thoughts on “AKIHABARA with Kanna (Tokyo, Japan)

  1. your posts on travelling in Japan makes me want to go there badly. both pictures and stories are great. thank you! may you have more adventures and art to discover. 🙂

    1. aruruteynkyu filipina for tagging along to my japan adventures 😀 there are more tokyo blog entries to come, so just keep on visiting the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

