Visual Feast in SAITAMA, Japan

It was raining when I arrived in Tokorozawa in Saitama. Naomi was there to welcome me and my gawd, she still looks the same ๐Ÿ™‚ She promised to impress me with her driving, hehe. We first drove to the library to borrow a travel book about another place where they plan to bring me, but we didn’t find any. We then drove to a small park to show me some cherryblossoms, but it was raining quite hard and so we drove back home to see Satoshi. So far, driving skills of Naomi is a 9! Haha, 1 step closer to perfection!!!

I met Naomi and her husband Satoshi, who is a children’s book illustrator, during my artist residency in Paris. I am so excited to stay with them and experience what is like to live in a Japanese house ๐Ÿ˜€ Though, Naomi asked me not to post too much images of her home, so I will just share with you some detail shots during my stay ๐Ÿ˜‰

JK saitama tea
welcome tea ๐Ÿ˜€
JK saitama tea 2
tea and biscuits

We went to the supermarket to buy dinner… I love going to groceries and supermarkets to check out the local products and not to mention, look at interesting packaging! First stop was the seafood supermarket.

JK saitama supermarket 3

JK saitama supermarket 4
octopus-ey
JK saitama supermarket 1
all dried up (squid & octopus)

JK saitama supermarket 2

JK saitama supermarket 5
roughly around Php500-600 per pack

JK saitama supermarket 8JK saitama supermarket 6

JK saitama supermarket 7
MAKI baka, wag matakot
JK saitama supermarket 9
the plastic is for –
JK saitama supermarket 10
the ice to put in –
JK saitama supermarket 11
to keep your seafood fresh and cold

Then off we go to another grocery…

JK saitama grocery 5

JK saitama grocery 6
not mariah CURRY
JK saitama grocery 4
down by the SHISO
JK saitama grocery 1
good reviews from the (not) rotten TOMATOES
JK saitama grocery 2
BANANANA-nana-nana from the Philippines
JK saitama grocery 3
i heart STWOBEWIES ;p

Satoshi remembered my knick knack collection in my paris atelier, so he suggested we go to a DIY store. What I didn’t anticipate was how huge the place was. Imagine, a 2-floor warehouse full of kuning-kunings,ย I just went bonkers!!! I didn’t take much pictures because i just couldn’t. Got my hands full, adrenaline’s high, hahaha, everything was overwhelming. There was a miniature eklat section where i just wanted to buy everything. My gawd, i wanna live here!!! If we did not get hungry, I think I would have stayed in “Joyful Honda” till eternity.

JK saitama craft store 1
ARURUWELCOME to arts & crafts heaven
JK saitama craft store 6
Pussycats and Apples
JK saitama craft store 2
CHIRIMEN handmade crafts – kawaiiiii!
now hand me my Leather
hand me my Leather
JK saitama craft store 5
japanese textiles

I remember in Cite des Arts, i always secretly wish to be invited to their atelier because Naomi always cooks delicious meals. One time A and I invited them over to the apartment to watch some ghibli movies. They ended up staying for dinner and whipped up a meal from whatever was left inside our fridge – they made chicken karaage and mashed potato. I can still remember how yummy it was.

JK saitama hme dinner 1
a storage surprise ๐Ÿ˜€
JK saitama hme dinner 3
satoshi preparing the sushi rice

Dinner is served ๐Ÿ˜€

JK saitama hme dinner 5
part of naomi’s bird collection

JK saitama hme dinner 2

DIY Temaki and beer ๐Ÿ˜€

ITADAKIMASU

JK saitama hme dinner 6
what a visual dinner spread. my eyes are full already!
JK saitama hme dinner 4
JK dreams of sushi
JK saitama hme dinner 7
naomi shows me how to make a temaki

OYASUMINASAI!

I close my eyes, smiling. It’s so nice to be here and to be with friends. Their house is soooo lovely and cozy. They let me occupy the second floor of their home where their atelier/workshop also is. Here, I am surrounded with wonderful books, lovely illustrations and naomi’s bird collection. Le Sigh, hai…

JK saitama hme
mah homey !!!

* * *

All images shot with Lipad my i-pad

UP NEXT: road trip to GUNMA.

One thought on “Visual Feast in SAITAMA, Japan

Leave a Reply

