A M S T E R D A M N E D

“I could see myself living here.”

I remember saying this when I first came to Amsterdam. I loved the vibe of the place and the openness of the people. More than the clichés (sex, drugs & rock and roll), I am in love with their mode of transportation (bicycles), their cozy homes (boathouses), their picturesque canals, their wonky buildings, and of course their hearty pannenkoekens (pancakes)

savory veggie pancake with pesto

I promised myself that when I do return to Netherlands, I should bike my way to Amsterdam. 3 years after, I still don’t know how to ride a bike, well at least my wish of coming back here was fulfilled 😉(haha palusot!)

What I love about being here is that I can easily take the tram or just walk around.

My first time in Amsterdam, I chose not to go to museums and opted to stay outdoors and enjoy the sun. Now it is winter but the biting cold didn’t really stop me from exploring the city on foot. Staying indoor has its benefits too, especially if you get to spend it discovering Van Gogh’s early works (Van Gogh Museum) and seeing Vermeer’s paintings up close (Rijksmuseum).

“Vermeer worked slowly and with great care, using bright colours and sometimes expensive pigments, with a preference for cornflower blue and yellow. He is particularly renowned for his masterly treatment and use of light in his work.”

(wikipedia)

Rijksmuseum in the background
Milkmaid by Johannes Vermeer
The Loveletter by Johannes Vermeer
A lot of people are looking for the “Girl with the Pearl Earring.” It’s actually in Hague and not in Amsterdam

NIGHTWATCH or Company of Frans Banning Cocq and Willem van Ruytenburch (in the background) by Rembrandt
early Netherlandish painting
Madonna in a niche
close-up detail of The Jewish Bride by Rembrandt

After walking aimlessly for days, I was starting to develop a stronger sense of direction (weh?!) and not to mention stronger leg muscles ;)Enough to get by as a tourist but of course not to pass off as a local. So the idea of living here would have to be postponed, hehe. I’m still open to the idea though if an opportunity presents itself…

my amsterdam loots

but maybe I should better learn how to ride a bike first!

“Well, damned if you do, damned if you don’t.”

***

All Images shot by JK (except the ones were I was in the photo 😉

UP NEXT: Amsterdam at night

Related Readings Amsterdam, Netherlands

Leave a Reply

