one happy shopper

~

SINGAPORE is considered to be the most sophisticated shopping destination in Asia.

~

Well, I am not at all sophisticated.

I didn’t even bother to go inside any boutiques in Orchard road where I stayed.

I love shopping but I prefer bargain hunting.

~

~

What catches my fancy are original designs, funky accessories and unusual objects.

In short, kuning-kunings!

My friend then suggested I head towards Haji lane on Arab Street.

~

~

Haji lane is a shopper’s haven but surprisingly I didn’t get to buy anything here.

I felt that some of the stuff I saw, I can also buy in Manila.

~

~

Ready to go home empty-handed, I started walking my way back to the hotel.

Then I heard a DJ playing loud music, I followed the sound and soon discovered a bargain shopping paradise . . .

~

~

Halukatdat,  A FLEA MARKET / BAZAAR !

I saw some accessories like the ones in Haji Lane but it’s way cheaper here 😀

After much haggling, I got meself some lego-like notebooks, funky rings and mini postcards.

WOOT WOOT!

~

BLING BLINGS! the insect, tv, lightning and 2 small deer rings are from SG, the rest are my baon

~

But this ain’t the only highlight of my expedition 🙂

I found a place where I went totally gaga…

~

~

WELCOME TO DREAMLAND!!!

~

~

old cameras, vintage typewriters and books galore

~

le petit prince pop up book. j'adore!

~

AYAYAY,

but wait there’s more!

~

LOOK! my wabbit 😀
transistor sharpeners
specimen paperweight

~

I wish to buy the little prince pop-up book , the norwegian wood shadow box and other interesting books but it’s a bit out of my budget.  But not to worry, I ended up with some good buys too – a mini fish eye photo, vintage children’s book page turned into an envelope and the rabbit mask. I am one happy shopper 😀

~

shadowboxes

norwegian wood shadowbox

~

From nostalgic items to art objects, from pop-up books to one-of-a-kind journals

BOOKS ACTUALLY has everything that I adore.

Wish I could stay longer but  this is a good enough reason to come back for more…

~

I didn’t really get to shop much on this trip. I was more focus on discovering new things and places here in Singapore. I did eat a lot, and I still owe you guys maybe 2-part entries on that. I watched some shows like a dance performance of legendary French Contemporary Dancer Sylvie Guillem at the Esplanade and also the fun Lion King Musical at Marina  Bay Sands. I’ve also been to the Mint toy museum and the disappointing Dali exhibition which I will also feature here soon. But the shops I discovered here were really great, would’ve wanted to live in Books Actually but maybe squatting wouldn’t be a good idea 🙂 Well oh well, this just goes to show that there really is more to this fine city than its malls 😀

***

BOOKS ACTUALLY

No. 9 Yong Siak St., Tiong Bahru, Singapore

2 thoughts on “one happy shopper

  1. Superlike. If i could have discovered this blog so early, I would also but those art pieces and go haggling for bargains, hahah! Very very refreshing to the eyes this photo blog is. More…more…more!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

