SNIPPETS of INSPIRATION

***

“You have to find your voice…

Sing out loud so you can be heard. “

***

Mannix or Emmanuel Santos in the international art scene, was in town and we agreed to meet up in Place de l’Opera. It was sunny and I didn’t mind waiting a bit at the footsteps of the Paris Opera Garnier. I watch the tourists taking photos of the grandiose architecture, some were eating sandwiches while the others were just soaking in the sun.

~

***

“Always think of the big picture… Your works should be eternal.

50 years from now, people should be able to look at your work and think that it is still good.”

***

I met Mannix some years back at a friends place in Manila. I didn’t know then that he was a fine art photographer, he asked me what I do and through my friends prodding, I showed Mannix some of my handmade photo collages and hand-colored photos from my very first exhibit entitled tRIP (To Rest In Peace).

~

***

“Exhibiting for the sake of recall is not important, you have to come out with shows that are really good. 

Shows that will echo and resonate throughout.”

***

hand painting an edition for his PASSING OF LIGHT exhibition


He said he mixes his own pigments and hand-paints his photographs as well. When I saw his works, I was just floored. Hiya naman ako sa mga gawa ko. I told him I should have just kept my talent hidden, hehehe.

~

~

Flash forward to Paris… Mannix & I are walking around Palais Royal, catching up, sipping coffee at this famous café in Place Colette, exchanging, him sharing and me absorbing…

***

“You are lucky to be here, surrounded by all these inspirations.

Go out, learn and discover…”

***


***

“Surround yourself with people who can and who will criticize you,

that’s the only way you will learn, evolve and develop.”

***

~

After we parted ways, I had to be by myself  to collect my thoughts and write down these snippets of inspiration. Found a café near the place where I was supposed to meet A’s dad later for a vernissage. I ordered dessert, I continued writing, slowly chewing everything that he said. . .

***

“You are still young, you’ll get there.”

***

~

images shot in Paris

tRIP photo collages & hand-colored photos (¤2005) by JK

images of Emmanuel Santos at his Troika Studio in Melbourne, stolen from his FB page (hope you understand :))

4 thoughts on “SNIPPETS of INSPIRATION

    1. Heto nasa Bolivia at naglalagare hanggang sa Buenos Aires. Nagopen ako ng eksibit sa Santa Cruz dela Sierra sa Bolivia at nagshooting sa Argentina.
      Pauwi na rin ako sa Land downunder, pero balak uuwi sa Pilipinas sa Oktubre!!!
      Kita-kits tayo!
      Mannix

      1. huwow! you truly make us proud!!!! 😀 yep kitakits sa iyong pagdating 🙂 from paris to pinas naman ang ating kwentuhan at kapehan.

Leave a Reply

