Consumed: OKONOMIYAKI

 

I ate my first okonomiyaki not in Japan but in Paris. Kanna prepared some for us in her atelier at Cité des Arts and it was a big hit! Remembering how much I liked it, she brought me this from her Japan trip 🙂

Arigato!

 

okonomiyaki starter kit

~

And one evening, around 11 PM,

A & I got hungry.

~

 

So I decided, why not try and make my first Okonomiyaki!!!

 

~
No need to read Japanese, just look at the images 😉
 
Okonomiyaki is like a galette or a savory pancake.
~
okonomiyaki flour
add water and whisk
then eggs
shredded cabbage

 

OKONOMI means anything you like, so for the ingredients add whatever your heart desires ;p

 

dump everything in the mix

 

I like mine with mushrooms, shrimps, lardons/bacon, onions

 

fry it
flip it

 

and voila

MY FIRST OKONOMIYAKI CREATION!!!

 

 

For the toppings,

add the okonomiyaki sauce, furikake (rice topping), toragashi (red pepper mix)

mayonnaise (which I didn’t have at this time ;p) and the dancing bonito flakes.

 

 

Mmmmmm not bad for my first attempt 🙂

 

I enjoy eating this because I love my dish with different flavors and textures. This was a bit crispy outside and soft & moist inside, a bit heavy for a midnight snack but it was defnitely oishi. Kanna would’ve been proud if she tasted it 😉

 

***

Check out this related entry

https://theartofeveryday.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/a-slice-of-japan-in-paris/

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Consumed: OKONOMIYAKI

    1. funny this place you mentioned with the manequin/lady friend ;p panghalina pala ng mga lasheng, hehehehe… katumbas na nito ang “isang okonomiyaki nga at isang babaeng gumigiling.” labo XD

Leave a Reply

