MURAKAMI WONDERLAND

   

I’m not really a big fan of Takashi Murakami but I really like the characters he designed for the virtual OZ in Summer Wars. I saw the film here in Paris and watched it in Japanese with French subtitles 😀

 

 

Well, apparently Murakami’s kawaii characters are back and it has invaded Chateau Versailles

 

 

There’s a lot of talk about this exhibition and not all of it were good but it was enough to spark my interest. So from our weekend stay in Normandy we drove straight off to the chateau to catch the last day of the controversial exposition

 

 

TONGARI-KUN (Mr. Pointy)

 

and look what greeted us inside the castle,

a larger than life colorful creature!

 

KIKI

KAI KAI

 

I just feel so giddy and happy to see all these dream-like creatures in this huge castle.

I feel like Alice in Murakami Wonderland!

 

YUME LION or THE DREAM LION

POM & ME

 

“Off with his head!” cried the traditionalists to Murakami.

They felt it was inappropriate to put these modern artworks amidst the historic-classic beauty that is Versailles.

 

MS. KO

 

For me, I found the juxtaposition rather interesting.

I feel that the mix engages us in this dialogue where they complement each other and also disagrees.

 

 

The fusion of the old and the new

  

all encrusted with diamonds and gems
THE EMPEROR'S NEW CLOTHES

 

the blending of classic paintings and pop art

 

SUMMER VACATION IN THE KINGDOM OF THE GOLDEN

 

the mix of East and West

 

OVAL BUDDHA outside
J

 

~

I believe that this is what the exhibit was all about…

It is not our first time here in the castle but this exposition was a good enough reason to come back. It gave us the chance to rediscover the place again, it felt like seeing everything with new eyes. I was always looking forward to discover what’s in the next room and it never failed to make me smile.

~

my favorite FLOWER MATANGO

 

I thoroughly enjoyed the different textures and tastes presented here. When it comes to food, I love dipping fries in vanilla ice cream and eating soft pastry with crispy chips.  And in a way, the mix of Murakami’s kitschy kawaii characters with the elegant Versailles background is like chocolate covered potato chips for me, it may be odd for some but it truly was yummy for me 😉  

 

 

~

In some ways I feel like this weird sculptures… Being here in Paris and feeling a bit out of place. In my first few months here I am looking for ways to connect, wanting to belong, yearning for a sense of community but then eventually I realized I could never blend in. Instead of trying to belong, I found myself looking in… inwardly this time and just try to do my own thing.  

 

 

***

Murakami Versailles

exhibit ended last December 12, 2010

Chateau de Versailles

 

Leave a Reply

